Monday, November 25, 2013

Book Blitz:Peaceful Genocide by J.A. Reynolds

Peaceful Genocide by J.A. Reynolds 
Publication date: November 25,2013
Genre: Science Fiction,Thriller,Young Adult





Seventeen-year-old Mitzi and Deuce can recall how many drops of water were on a leaf from a rainstorm five years ago and conversations from last week, month, or year. They have the ability to remember every second of everyday—since birth.

This gift has blessed Mitzi with a history of being sexually assaulted by researchers and abused by her own parents. She trusts no one. Likes no one. Deuce, however, is a high school standout. His gift has made him a superstar on the football field and his memory promises him endless opportunities.

When they both end up at an Alzheimer’s research facility under false proviso, they quickly realize this place isn’t what it seems to be. They endure crazy military-style tests, are forcefully drugged, and complete real-life simulations that haunt them.

Mitzi and Deuce have no idea what the researchers want to do with them or their memories. But one thing is clear: the researchers will go to any lengths to get what they want.





AUTHOR BIO
J.A. Reyolds
JA Reynolds lives in the Midwest with a normal family, raising a normal daughter, with some abnormal pets. It’s extraordinarily ordinary. 

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Falling From Grace (Grace#1) by S.L. Naeole

8081589
Title:Falling From Grace (Grace #1) by S.L. Naeole
Publication Date: January 10,2010
Publisher: Crystal Quilt Publishing 
Borrowed from a Kindle User

Book Summary
            Grace was best friends with one of the most popular guys in school, Graham. She has never fit in and has been considered a freak. Now that she doesn't have her best friend by her side she doesn't know how she will survive her last year of high school until she meets the hot new guy. The new guy doesn't care about the rumors that are spread about her. Things get complicated when she learns that Robert (the new guy) is an angel. 

Grace Shelley-One of the most annoying heroines in a book that I have read so far. She lets everyone walk all over her and she never stood up for herself. Like most YA romance she falls head over heels for the two hottest guys. She is considered a freak by her classmates. 

Robert -He is considered one of the hottest guys in school who falls for the heroine. His character was decent most of the time. He reminded me of Edward from Twilight except not as creepy as Edward was.

Graham -My least favorite character in the book. He was selfish and arrogant. I wanted Grace to put him in his place but, of course she didn't. Like Robert, he is one of the hottest guys in Grace's school. Grace and him were best friends for most of their life until his girlfriend got in the way of their friendship. 

Stacey -My favorite character, she speaks her mind and stands up for Grace. I wish the book was about Stacey because she would make a great heroine. 

Lark-Lark is Robert's sister. I also enjoyed her character. She could be described as having an icy personality towards people but, she eventually connects with Stacey and Grace. 


+/- or Dislikes/likes
(-)Cliche book
(+) Angels 
(-)Graham
(+)I enjoy the book cover
(+) When the main character isn't selfish 
(-)Reminded me of Twilight... except no vampires in this book
(+)The fight scene was fun to read





           "Serves you right for being here,you jerk," She spats.

I really wanted to enjoy this book but, I found myself bored while reading it. (I even skipped some pages to see if it would get any better). I read the whole book since I don't like to write reviews without actually reading the book. I didn't have a problem with the writing style but, I found the plot and other parts of the book boring. I might try to read book 2 in hopes that it might be better.


Rating:1/5
Cover:3/5

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1)
Title: Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths#1) by K.A. Tucker
Publication Date: February 12,2013 
Publisher: Atria Books
Genre:New Adult Romance
E-book copy Thankfully given to me for an honest review via Net Galley

Book Summary
              Four years ago, Kacey is in a car accident that kills her parents, best friend and boyfriend. She runs away to Miami with her little sister Livie, to begin a new life. Kacey wants to keep everyone at a distance but, when she meets the irresistible and mysterious neighbor, it proves to be hard to keep the ice around her heart.  

Kacey- Four years ago, Kacey was in a car accident which left her loosing the people she loved most. After the accident she goes through a horrible time but, eventually tries to better herself for her sister. Even though she doesn't do the bad habits she once did, she still keeps her heart closed off. 

Livie- Livie is Kacey's younger sister who is only fifteen. Livie is a lot different from her sister, Kacey. Livie has a pretty innocent outlook on life, she doesn't underage drink or engage in romantic relationships. 

Trent- Trent is the mysterious neighbor in the apartment next to Kacey's. 

+/- or Dislikes/likes
(-) I didn't like the diss towards AC/DC
(+) The relationship between Kacey and Livie 
(+) The emotions
(-) I didn't like how some of it became predictable to me
(+/-) Trent, I have a love hate relationship with his character. 
(+) The cover is gorgeous, I love how the girl is under water.
(+) The ending! [I can't say why because it would spoil the book but, I was happy with the ending]


I really enjoyed reading this book for the most part, some of it I could predict what was going to happen. I loved how the author gave her characters flaws, like after the car accident Kacey isn't like she used to be. It made the story more believable. I loved the ending of the book!


Rating: 3.5/5
Cover:4/5

Sunday, August 4, 2013

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy#5) by Jennifer Estep

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy, #5)
Title: Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy#5) by Jennifer Estep
Publication Date: July 30th 2013
Publisher:K-Teen
ARC copy Thankfully given to me for an honest review via Net Galley 

Book Summary
         Life at Mythos Academy gets more dangerous for Gwen when a Reaper tried to poison her in the Library of Antiquities. The good news is she is alive but, the bad new is someone else was poisoned by the Reaper instead. Everyone expects Gwen to lead the charge against the Reapers because she is Nike's Champion. She has to find the antidote fast or someone innocent will die. 

            
Gwen- Gwen has come along way since the first book in Mythos Academy series. Her character is more of a fighter now but, she still has her moments of weakness which makes her more real like. 

Daphne-Daphne is Gwen's best friend. She is opposite of Gwen, she loves the color pink and acts really girly where as Gwen is kind of a tomboy. Daphne like Gwen, has come along way since the first book. Even though Daphne is a girly girl, she is a fierce fighter.

Alexei- Alexei is a Bogatyr. He is one of my favorite characters in Mythos Academy series. He seems to be fitting into the series quite well. 

Oliver- Oliver is the only one who Logan is basically keeping in contact with. We don't get too much from him about Logan but, enough to know how he is. 

Coach Ajax-Even though Coach Ajax appears in the other books in Mythos Academy series, in Midnight Frost, he has a bigger role. I loved the fact that we get to see him have a bigger part in the series because he only seemed to be in the other books a little. Coach Ajax is a Spartan. 

Rory- She is a new character introduced into the Mythos Academy series. Even though her character is first introduced as a rude girl, I enjoyed her character. She is a feisty Spartan. I hope we see more of Rory in the next book even if it is a short part. 



+/- or Dislikes/likes
(+) I love the concept of trying to prevent a war with the reapers
(+) Gwen and the team going to another academy for a visit
(-) Logan doesn't come into the story until later on.
(-) The person who gets poisoned :( 
(-/+) The Reapers
(+)Action packed 
(+)Fight Scenes
(+) I love the cover
(+)Learning more about Gwen's family

Favorite Scene/Quotes
         "All right, all right," I groused. "You can stay. But only because you're cute, and I need some eye candy to look at."


I really enjoyed Midnight Frost but, I didn't like it as much as I enjoyed Crimson Frost (Book 4). The action seemed to be less in this book compared to the previous book. I was so excited when I got accepted to read this early via Netgalley but, I felt less excited during some of Midnight Frost. Jennifer Estep does a lovely job writing Midnight Frost as she has with the other books in this series. 

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy, #5)



Rating:3/5
Cover:4/5

Friday, June 28, 2013

Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry

 
Title: Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry (Pushing The Limits #1)
Publication Date:August 3 2012 (UK)
Publisher:Harlequin UK

Book Summary
          Echo was a popular girl with a jock boyfriend but, that all changed after an incident she can't remember. Her friends try to find ways to get her back into the popular group. Noah Hutchins in the school's hot loner.When Noah comes into her life, She can't fight the crazy attraction between them.  

Echo-At times I found her character quite annoying. I'm not really a fan of the name Echo. Her character seems weak to me as she lets her friends push her around and doesn't really stand up for herself. Even towards the end of the book she doesn't really get much better. 

Noah- I enjoyed his character at times because even though he made bad choices he tried to do the right thing. He showed that he cared for more than himself. 

Aires-I enjoyed learning about his character because he seemed to be a great character compared to almost everyone in the book. I loved how he was always there for his sister.

Mrs.Collins- I enjoyed her character because she seemed to be so helpful towards both Noah and Echo. 

Ashley-She is my least favorite character throughout the book. Even towards the end I couldn't connect with her. 



+/- or Dislikes/likes
+Echo/Noah's relationship 
-The relationship between Echo's father and step mother.
-Most of the characters throughout the book 
+Writing style
-Point of view switch... (It didn't fit well with this story.) 
+Noah's relationship with his brothers
-Echo's step-mother,Ashley

Romance between Noah/Echo- I really loved how the author included this romance between the ex-popular girl and the not so popular/troubled kid. I think the chemistry between the characters was written well. 

Aires/Echo's relationship- I enjoyed reading about their relationship as Aires seemed like a really great brother and a role model to Echo. I think if he would of still been alive he would have been inspiring to his sister. 


I really wanted to love this book because the synopsis pulled me in and looked like a great book. The book started off great but, it eventually dragged on and made me skip around a bit to try to get back to into the book. I think I would of enjoyed the book a lot more if I could relate more with the main characters. I did enjoy parts of the book but, most of the time I just couldn't enjoy it. Even when the main character grows towards the end of the book it didn't feel right to me. 


Rating:2/5
Cover:3/5

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Spartan Frost (Mythos Academy#4.5) by Jennifer Estep

Title: Spartan Frost (Mythos Academy #4.5) by Jennifer Estep
Publication Date: June 25,2013
Publisher:

Book Summary
                   Logan Quinn almost kills Gwen Frost and decides he has to leave the academy. Logan isn't in the hold of Loki and the reapers anymore but, he still can't risk hurting Gwen again. Spartan Frost is his story.


Logan Quinn- I have been fond of his character since I read the first book. I love how in Spartan Frost, it is in his point of view. It shows more of his characteristics.

Linus Quinn- Even though in this short novella, Linus is attempting to be a better father to Logan however, I am still not warming up to his character.



+/- or Dislikes/likes
+ I love that it is in Logan's POV 
+Seeing Logan's emotions after what happened in Crimson Frost
-Logan's father 
-The cover.. (I think it should of had Logan on the front)
+Driven by revenge 



Spartan Frost is a good short novella for the Mythos Academy series. I loved how it shows Logan's story after the events that happened in Crimson Frost. I think Jennifer Estep did an amazing job with Logan's Point of View and portraying his emotions. Spartan Frost is a great addition to have with the rest of the Mytho's Academy books. It isn't necessary to read this before book five. 

Rating:3/4
Cover:3/4

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines


Title: Fallen Too Far (Too Far #1) by Abbi Glines
Publication Date: December 14, 2012
Publisher:
Genre: New Adult Romance

Book Summary
                 Blaire is nineteen years old and for the last three years, she had to take care of her sick mother. When her mother ends up dying Blaire finds her father to find a place to live until she can go out on her own. She ends up meeting her new step-brother, Rush. Rush is the son of a famous rock star.

Blaire-She is my favorite character in the book. I have an interest in strong female characters. I hated her moments of weakness because she has been through but, it made her character more real. 

Rush-I wasn't a big fan of Rush in this book. He is a player who could careless about the female population. I hated how he treated Blaire. I didn't fall too deeply in love with his character and he disappointed me a lot throughout this book. 

Grant- I was secretly hoping for a Blaire/Grant romance! I loved the entrance of Grant, he seemed really sweet to Blaire. I was disappointed when he ended up behaving a bit like Rush did. I hope that Grant will someday find a sweet girl like Blaire. 

Nannette(Nan)-She was a real witch when she showed up in the story and she was one throughout the book. Thankfully, she wasn't in the book to much. 




LIKES
Blaire's strength that she has mostly throughtout the book
Abbi Gline's writing style
The book cover <3 


DISLIKES
Rush
Rush's possessiveness 
Nannette (Rush's sister)
The Ending

I have read Abbi Glines other series and I enjoy her writing style. Fallen Too Far didn't have the same appeal to me as her Existence trilogy had. I did enjoy this book but, I didn't enjoy it as much as I wanted to. I will read the rest of the books in the series to see how it all turns out.



Rating: 3/5
Cover: 4/5