Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Pieces of Gray (Broken Pieces #4) by Kelly Moore

Pieces of Gray (Broken Pieces #4)
Title: Pieces of Gray (Broken Pieces #4) by Kelly Moore
Publication Date: January 7, 2017 
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing 

Book Summary
      Gray is a sniper for the military where she meets the love of her life, Kell Crew. They both end up on a mission in China that leads the two of them captured. Gray believes Kell is dead and when she is rescued she leaves him behind. Eventually, she learns that Kell isn't dead and she will do whatever she can to bring him home. 

Gray Milby -The female main character is a complete bad ass. She is an impressive sniper. I love how strong her character and isn't a "fake" strong character like some books have. She's been through hell and back, and in the end she is willing to sacrifice her happiness for someone else's. She also shows she is human and has moments of weakness. 
Kell Crew -The male love interest who has quite a tragic story. I loved his character and his interaction with the main female.


+/- 
(+) Bad ass female sniper 
(+) tragic male/tragic female backstory 
(-)Spoiler.... a loss 
(+)family relationships
(-) Felt a bit rushed 
(-)The name Gray  
(-) Marc, it was like his character was forgotten 



I received a copy of this book free from Book sprout in exchange for an honest review. As much as I enjoyed this book and it is an easy read, I can only see myself giving it three out of five stars. I felt like some of the story was a bit rushed especially towards the ending. I don't know if I'll read any of the other books in the series but, I might in the future. If the other writes a story with Kell as the main point of view, I would definitely read that. Especially, if he gets a back story. I loved his character.


Rating:3/5
Cover:2.5/5 I feel the cover is kind of bland compared to most. I do love how it is grey and fits with the title of the book. 


Dead Silence (The Everlasting Chronicles #1) by K.G. Reuss (some spoilers!)

40551082

Title: Dead Silence (The Everlasting Chronicles #1) by K.G. Reuss 
Publication Date: June 2018 (Original November 2017)
Publisher:

Book Summary
     Everly has seen this shadow man for as long as she can remember, he's been her protector against the evil demons. She had a break from the shadow man and the dead for a few years but, they come back into her life. 


Everly- Everly is the main character who is described as an outsider but, has a popular best friend. She even dated a popular guy who turned out to be a D-bag. 

Dylan (ex)-He is a major douche bag and reminds me of some of the guys I've dated in the past. I find him very pointless and hope he disappears from the series.

Shadow-He is mysterious and is currently unnamed in the first book. Shadow is my favorite character because he's mysterious and I have a guess on who he actually is.
+/-
(+) The mystery behind the Shadow man. It was unique to me and new compared to what I'm used to reading.
(-) The douche bag ex boyfriend. He was a pig and I found his character to be rather pointless 
(+) The relationship between Everly and her best friend! (I wouldn't mind reading a book about her best friend). 
(-) I felt like the beginning of the book was a slow start, the middle and end picked up and I can't wait until book number 2. 
(-) Everly's father 


I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review from the website BookSprout.  I give this book a 3 out of 5 because it has some unique elements but, the first few chapters were kind of boring to be honest. I found some of the characters pointless and couldn't handle the scenes with Dylan (Ex-boyfriend) and Everly.  I am excited to read book number two when it comes out!

Rating:3/5 
Cover:4.5/5 I love this cover 


Monday, November 25, 2013

Book Blitz:Peaceful Genocide by J.A. Reynolds

Peaceful Genocide by J.A. Reynolds 
Publication date: November 25,2013
Genre: Science Fiction,Thriller,Young Adult





Seventeen-year-old Mitzi and Deuce can recall how many drops of water were on a leaf from a rainstorm five years ago and conversations from last week, month, or year. They have the ability to remember every second of everyday—since birth.

This gift has blessed Mitzi with a history of being sexually assaulted by researchers and abused by her own parents. She trusts no one. Likes no one. Deuce, however, is a high school standout. His gift has made him a superstar on the football field and his memory promises him endless opportunities.

When they both end up at an Alzheimer’s research facility under false proviso, they quickly realize this place isn’t what it seems to be. They endure crazy military-style tests, are forcefully drugged, and complete real-life simulations that haunt them.

Mitzi and Deuce have no idea what the researchers want to do with them or their memories. But one thing is clear: the researchers will go to any lengths to get what they want.





AUTHOR BIO
J.A. Reyolds
JA Reynolds lives in the Midwest with a normal family, raising a normal daughter, with some abnormal pets. It’s extraordinarily ordinary. 

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Falling From Grace (Grace#1) by S.L. Naeole

8081589
Title:Falling From Grace (Grace #1) by S.L. Naeole
Publication Date: January 10,2010
Publisher: Crystal Quilt Publishing 
Borrowed from a Kindle User

Book Summary
            Grace was best friends with one of the most popular guys in school, Graham. She has never fit in and has been considered a freak. Now that she doesn't have her best friend by her side she doesn't know how she will survive her last year of high school until she meets the hot new guy. The new guy doesn't care about the rumors that are spread about her. Things get complicated when she learns that Robert (the new guy) is an angel. 

Grace Shelley-One of the most annoying heroines in a book that I have read so far. She lets everyone walk all over her and she never stood up for herself. Like most YA romance she falls head over heels for the two hottest guys. She is considered a freak by her classmates. 

Robert -He is considered one of the hottest guys in school who falls for the heroine. His character was decent most of the time. He reminded me of Edward from Twilight except not as creepy as Edward was.

Graham -My least favorite character in the book. He was selfish and arrogant. I wanted Grace to put him in his place but, of course she didn't. Like Robert, he is one of the hottest guys in Grace's school. Grace and him were best friends for most of their life until his girlfriend got in the way of their friendship. 

Stacey -My favorite character, she speaks her mind and stands up for Grace. I wish the book was about Stacey because she would make a great heroine. 

Lark-Lark is Robert's sister. I also enjoyed her character. She could be described as having an icy personality towards people but, she eventually connects with Stacey and Grace. 


+/- or Dislikes/likes
(-)Cliche book
(+) Angels 
(-)Graham
(+)I enjoy the book cover
(+) When the main character isn't selfish 
(-)Reminded me of Twilight... except no vampires in this book
(+)The fight scene was fun to read





           "Serves you right for being here,you jerk," She spats.

I really wanted to enjoy this book but, I found myself bored while reading it. (I even skipped some pages to see if it would get any better). I read the whole book since I don't like to write reviews without actually reading the book. I didn't have a problem with the writing style but, I found the plot and other parts of the book boring. I might try to read book 2 in hopes that it might be better.


Rating:1/5
Cover:3/5

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1)
Title: Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths#1) by K.A. Tucker
Publication Date: February 12,2013 
Publisher: Atria Books
Genre:New Adult Romance
E-book copy Thankfully given to me for an honest review via Net Galley

Book Summary
              Four years ago, Kacey is in a car accident that kills her parents, best friend and boyfriend. She runs away to Miami with her little sister Livie, to begin a new life. Kacey wants to keep everyone at a distance but, when she meets the irresistible and mysterious neighbor, it proves to be hard to keep the ice around her heart.  

Kacey- Four years ago, Kacey was in a car accident which left her loosing the people she loved most. After the accident she goes through a horrible time but, eventually tries to better herself for her sister. Even though she doesn't do the bad habits she once did, she still keeps her heart closed off. 

Livie- Livie is Kacey's younger sister who is only fifteen. Livie is a lot different from her sister, Kacey. Livie has a pretty innocent outlook on life, she doesn't underage drink or engage in romantic relationships. 

Trent- Trent is the mysterious neighbor in the apartment next to Kacey's. 

+/- or Dislikes/likes
(-) I didn't like the diss towards AC/DC
(+) The relationship between Kacey and Livie 
(+) The emotions
(-) I didn't like how some of it became predictable to me
(+/-) Trent, I have a love hate relationship with his character. 
(+) The cover is gorgeous, I love how the girl is under water.
(+) The ending! [I can't say why because it would spoil the book but, I was happy with the ending]


I really enjoyed reading this book for the most part, some of it I could predict what was going to happen. I loved how the author gave her characters flaws, like after the car accident Kacey isn't like she used to be. It made the story more believable. I loved the ending of the book!


Rating: 3.5/5
Cover:4/5

Sunday, August 4, 2013

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy#5) by Jennifer Estep

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy, #5)
Title: Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy#5) by Jennifer Estep
Publication Date: July 30th 2013
Publisher:K-Teen
ARC copy Thankfully given to me for an honest review via Net Galley 

Book Summary
         Life at Mythos Academy gets more dangerous for Gwen when a Reaper tried to poison her in the Library of Antiquities. The good news is she is alive but, the bad new is someone else was poisoned by the Reaper instead. Everyone expects Gwen to lead the charge against the Reapers because she is Nike's Champion. She has to find the antidote fast or someone innocent will die. 

            
Gwen- Gwen has come along way since the first book in Mythos Academy series. Her character is more of a fighter now but, she still has her moments of weakness which makes her more real like. 

Daphne-Daphne is Gwen's best friend. She is opposite of Gwen, she loves the color pink and acts really girly where as Gwen is kind of a tomboy. Daphne like Gwen, has come along way since the first book. Even though Daphne is a girly girl, she is a fierce fighter.

Alexei- Alexei is a Bogatyr. He is one of my favorite characters in Mythos Academy series. He seems to be fitting into the series quite well. 

Oliver- Oliver is the only one who Logan is basically keeping in contact with. We don't get too much from him about Logan but, enough to know how he is. 

Coach Ajax-Even though Coach Ajax appears in the other books in Mythos Academy series, in Midnight Frost, he has a bigger role. I loved the fact that we get to see him have a bigger part in the series because he only seemed to be in the other books a little. Coach Ajax is a Spartan. 

Rory- She is a new character introduced into the Mythos Academy series. Even though her character is first introduced as a rude girl, I enjoyed her character. She is a feisty Spartan. I hope we see more of Rory in the next book even if it is a short part. 



+/- or Dislikes/likes
(+) I love the concept of trying to prevent a war with the reapers
(+) Gwen and the team going to another academy for a visit
(-) Logan doesn't come into the story until later on.
(-) The person who gets poisoned :( 
(-/+) The Reapers
(+)Action packed 
(+)Fight Scenes
(+) I love the cover
(+)Learning more about Gwen's family

Favorite Scene/Quotes
         "All right, all right," I groused. "You can stay. But only because you're cute, and I need some eye candy to look at."


I really enjoyed Midnight Frost but, I didn't like it as much as I enjoyed Crimson Frost (Book 4). The action seemed to be less in this book compared to the previous book. I was so excited when I got accepted to read this early via Netgalley but, I felt less excited during some of Midnight Frost. Jennifer Estep does a lovely job writing Midnight Frost as she has with the other books in this series. 

Midnight Frost (Mythos Academy, #5)



Rating:3/5
Cover:4/5

Friday, June 28, 2013

Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry

 
Title: Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry (Pushing The Limits #1)
Publication Date:August 3 2012 (UK)
Publisher:Harlequin UK

Book Summary
          Echo was a popular girl with a jock boyfriend but, that all changed after an incident she can't remember. Her friends try to find ways to get her back into the popular group. Noah Hutchins in the school's hot loner.When Noah comes into her life, She can't fight the crazy attraction between them.  

Echo-At times I found her character quite annoying. I'm not really a fan of the name Echo. Her character seems weak to me as she lets her friends push her around and doesn't really stand up for herself. Even towards the end of the book she doesn't really get much better. 

Noah- I enjoyed his character at times because even though he made bad choices he tried to do the right thing. He showed that he cared for more than himself. 

Aires-I enjoyed learning about his character because he seemed to be a great character compared to almost everyone in the book. I loved how he was always there for his sister.

Mrs.Collins- I enjoyed her character because she seemed to be so helpful towards both Noah and Echo. 

Ashley-She is my least favorite character throughout the book. Even towards the end I couldn't connect with her. 



+/- or Dislikes/likes
+Echo/Noah's relationship 
-The relationship between Echo's father and step mother.
-Most of the characters throughout the book 
+Writing style
-Point of view switch... (It didn't fit well with this story.) 
+Noah's relationship with his brothers
-Echo's step-mother,Ashley

Romance between Noah/Echo- I really loved how the author included this romance between the ex-popular girl and the not so popular/troubled kid. I think the chemistry between the characters was written well. 

Aires/Echo's relationship- I enjoyed reading about their relationship as Aires seemed like a really great brother and a role model to Echo. I think if he would of still been alive he would have been inspiring to his sister. 


I really wanted to love this book because the synopsis pulled me in and looked like a great book. The book started off great but, it eventually dragged on and made me skip around a bit to try to get back to into the book. I think I would of enjoyed the book a lot more if I could relate more with the main characters. I did enjoy parts of the book but, most of the time I just couldn't enjoy it. Even when the main character grows towards the end of the book it didn't feel right to me. 


Rating:2/5
Cover:3/5